Select Page

NUHS Awards Dr. Terry Yochum and the late Dr. Gordon Holman Places in Prestigious Hall of Honor

by Jun 10, 2010

Home » Alumni News » NUHS Awards Dr. Terry Yochum and the late Dr. Gordon Holman Places in Prestigious Hall of Honor

National University of Health Sciences’ Hall of Honor recognizes individuals “whose impact on our lives has been so significant that they have changed the course of our lives forever.” This year, NUHS has added two new individuals to the Hall of Honor, Dr. Terry Yochum (right) and the late Dr. Gordon L. Holman (left), who are each responsible for notable advancements in the chiropractic profession.

Gordon Holman, DC, FICC, helped form the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners in 1963 and served as its first executive director from 1963 to 1981. He was dedicated to the advancement and standardization of chiropractic medicine and having his profession become the accepted medical entity that it is today. He also previously served as the President of the Wyoming Chiropractic Association, and as President of the National College of Chiropractic Alumni Association. His daughter, Pamela, accepted the honor on his behalf at the recent NUHS Homecoming banquet.

Dr. Terry R. Yochum is a second-generation chiropractor and a cum laude graduate of the National College of Chiropractic, where he subsequently completed his radiology specialty. He is a Diplomate and Fellow of the American Chiropractic Board of Radiology and served as its Vice President and President for seven years (1983-1990).

Dr. Yochum is currently Director of the Rocky Mountain Chiropractic Radiological Center in Denver, Colorado, and an Adjunct Professor of Radiology at Southern California University of Health Sciences (formerly LACC). The first edition of Dr. Yochum’s textbook, “Essentials of Skeletal Radiology”, is a benchmark publication for the profession. It has sold over 100,000 copies since 1987, and is a required text at chiropractic colleges worldwide and is used in over 100 medical schools around the world.

Instituted in 1999 as the “Hall of Fame Award,” recipients are “learned individuals who are educated in the art and science of chiropractic and who impact the lives of the ill and diseased. They stand out from the rest by the way they treat their patients or by the way they lead their colleagues in the profession.” Also receiving recognition as associate members are those who are not doctors of chiropractic but who show exceptional dedication to National, the chiropractic profession, and the health sciences.

A complete list of previous Hall of Honor members and associate members include:

John Fitz Alan Howard, DC, MD (posthumous)
William Charles Schulze, MD, DC (posthumous)
Joseph Janse, DC (posthumous)
Walter B. Wolf, DC
Orval Hidde, DC, JD
Jacob Fisher, PhD (associate)
Emory Giles, PhD (associate)
Evelyn Buchholz Richie, LLD (Hon) (associate)

Leonard Fay, DC
Melvin Collins (associate)

Herbert Lee, DC
Joseph Keating, PhD (associate)
Louis Sportelli, DC
Chester Stowell, DC
Kazuyoshi Takeyachi, DC
James Winterstein, DC

George J. Goodheart, DC (posthumous)
James M. Cox, DC

Gordon L. Holman, DC (posthumous)
Terry R. Yochum, DC

Portraits of each inductee line the main corridor of Janse Hall on the National University of Health Sciences’ Lombard campus.

Follow NUHS on Social Media

About the Author

Elizabeth Toth

Elizabeth Toth

Elizabeth Toth is Communications Coordinator at National University of Health Sciences. She helps promote the university via marketing and public relations efforts. Elizabeth earned her Bachelor of Arts in journalism and communications from Northern Illinois University.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts

NMSA hosts guided nature walk during Naturopathic Medicine Week

NMSA hosts guided nature walk during Naturopathic Medicine Week

In celebration of Naturopathic Medicine Week from May 14-20, the NUHS chapter of the Naturopathic Medical Student Association hosted a guided nature walk around the Lombard Prairie Path near campus. The student club discussed local medicinal plants that can be found on the trail. 

read more
NUHS alum to join Michigan Board of Acupuncture

NUHS alum to join Michigan Board of Acupuncture

NUHS alumnus Brian Emrys, DC, LAc, MSOM, ‘21, was recently appointed to the Michigan Board of Acupuncture. The board, which includes seven acupuncturists, three physicians, and three public members, oversees the practice of licensed acupuncturists in the state.

read more

Defining the future of integrated health care.