Select Page

News Center

Home » Dr. Randy Swenson Appointed as Chair of the Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation

Dr. Randy Swenson Appointed as Chair of the Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation

Thursday, May 17, 2012

In April of 2012, Dr. Randy Swenson was elected Chair of the Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA). Dr. Swenson is dean of the College of Allied Health Sciences at National University of Health Sciences, and an instrumental part of creating, developing and administering National University’s massage therapy education programs.

Dr. Swenson, who holds a doctor of chiropractic degree as well as a master of health professions education degree, has doctor randy swensonserved as a commissioner on COMTA since 2010. He has been a site team member and team leader since 2006, and in 2011 was appointed to COMTA’s executive committee.

Regarding the honor of his new two-year term as COMTA’s Chair, Dr. Swenson says: “My experience with COMTA has been very rewarding and interesting since I believe programmatic accreditation is important to the integrity of a quality education.”

“I’m looking forward to experiencing the full gamut of the accreditation process.  This coming December, I look forward to appearing before NACIQI (National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity), the committee that makes recommendations to the Secretary of Education for approval of accrediting bodies by the Department of Education,” he says.

“We’re proud that Dr. Randy Swenson continues National University’s legacy of supporting educational accreditation for complementary and allied health professions,” says NUHS President James F. Winterstein. “Given the excellent standards he has maintained within the massage therapy education programs at NUHS, he will undoubtedly bring much experience and great dedication to his term as COMTA’s Chair.”






Begin Your Journey