Select Page

83 Graduates Honored at NUHS April Commencement

by Apr 18, 2014

Home » News » 83 Graduates Honored at NUHS April Commencement

The student center auditorium was filled to near capacity for the April 2014 commencement ceremony for the NUHS College of Professional Studies (CPS). 83 graduates of both the CPS and the College of Allied Health Sciences received honors, diplomas and certificates, taking the next step forward on their educational and career paths.

During the morning commencement, NUHS President Joseph Stiefel addressed graduates of the bachelor of science and massage therapy programs, humorously capitalizing on contemporary inspiration from noted rock singer Jon Bon Jovi. The theme of speeches by both the President and the valedictorians was that passion and persistence equals possibility.

During the afternoon commencement for professional degree and master of science degree graduates, the special commencement speaker was the Honorable Iris Y. Martinez, state senator and sponsor of a current bill to establish state licensure for the naturopathic medical profession in Illinois. Senator Martinez spoke to graduates about the importance of health care access for all, encouraging future physicians to offer their talent to medically underserved populations and underserved geographical areas in the state.

Commemorating her leadership on key state health care issues, and her many legislative achievements, National University of Health Sciences awarded Senator Martinez with the honorary doctor of laws degree (LLD) during the ceremony.

Below are the April 2014 graduates of National University of Health Sciences who now will, as alumni, be forever part of NUHS’ ongoing mission in educational and health care excellence.

College of Professional Studies

Doctor of Chiropractic

Bradley A. Backhaus
Renee Jessica Bonarek
Dariusz Brzezinski
Nicholas Burgei
Ronald V. Burr, Jr.
Nicholas Caputo
Eric Cundiff
Ali Dia
Bethany June Dixon
Sarah El Said Romanovich
Diana Elena Gallo
Candace R. Gesicki
Shannon R. Glish
Sean Gregory
Rebecca Elise Hamaker
Daniel Han
Michael David Hautamaki
David Herlihy
Diana L. Herr
Andrew Hunt
Kevin Andrew Imhoff
Alexander Scott Ison
Jeffrey Scott Jones
Lubna Khan
John LaVere
Whitney C. Leach
Nolan Lee – valedictorian
Ha-il Lee
Tameka Lynette Lewis-Madkins
Dominika Malinowska Hertsberg


Marla Mayerson
Mark Mazzuchelli
Ryan Patrick Meehan
Jillian Patricia Vacek Mergen Alex Morgan
Purvi Patel
Patricia Petrunak
Allan Quran
Bryan Robinett
Abeer J. Saleh
Zubair A. Siddiqui
Matthew Spears
Veronika Vladimirovna Vlasov
Brittney Leigh Warren
Mackenzie Wood- salutatorian


Doctor Naturopathic Medicine

Timothy Roscoe Ammons
Heather Pidu Bautista
Lakisha Brandon
Andrew S. Cummins – salutatorian
Mary Arial Curry
Joclyn Denise Davis – valedictorian
Michelle Evelyn Ennsmann
Tawainna D. Houston
Fatemeh Jadidi
Jonathan L. Otten
Jerrica Sweetnich

Master of Science in Oriental Medicine

Melissa Maria Espinosa
Michelle Choo Parks – valedictorian
Jessica Reis – salutatorian

Master of Science in Acupuncture

Jorden Anton – valedictorian
Breanne Patri Driscoll
John K. Girardot
Diana L. Herr – salutatorian
Asim S. Kamal

College of Allied Health Sciences

Bachelor of Science

Becky Lynn Antoine
Corina Avram
Stephanie A. Catanese
Brittney Champion
Anthony Crifase – salutatorian
Elaine Gahr
Ashley Hunt
Roula Johnson
Jacqueline Kosteck
Anna Paperny
Harold Richardson
Feriba Samadzada
Robert Steele
Crystal E. Stewart – valedictorian
Polina Titarenko

Massage Therapy Associate of Applied Science

Sarah Capodagli – valedictorian

Massage Therapy Certification

Amy Cullerton
Angela Gonzalez – salutatorian

Follow NUHS on Social Media


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts

Defining the future of integrated health care.