Select Page
Home » Faculty » Johnson, Claire

Claire Johnson, DC, MSEd, PhD, DACBSP, FICC

Professor, Editor of NUHS Journals

Dr. Claire Johnson is a professor and Editor in Chief of National University’s three scientific, peer reviewed journals that are indexed in PubMed. The Journal of Manipulative and Physiological Therapeutics is the flagship journal for the chiropractic profession, having published thousands of peer reviewed articles written by international and multidisciplinary scientists. She has developed the Journal of Chiropractic Medicine as a broad-scope specialty journal, which includes general practice, sports, pediatrics, diagnostic imaging, forensics and neurology, and the Journal of Chiropractic Humanities, which is the most cited philosophy journal of the profession.

In addition to her chiropractic doctorate degree, she completed a diplomate in sports chiropractic, received her master’s degree in health professions education, and a PhD in public health epidemiology. Over her career, she has authored numerous scientific papers, guided hundreds of authors toward publication, and coached thousands in the scholarly art of peer review. She is a founder and administrator of the Chiropractic Educators Research Forum, which is an international entity that develops chiropractic education research capacity.

 Her professional service includes her appointment as Chair of the Public Health Committee for the World Federation of Chiropractic and she is a Member of the Interdisciplinary committee of the North American Spine Society. She also has given years of service to the American Public Health Association (APHA) and the Global Spine Care Initiative (GSCI). The GSCI is an international research group dedicated to reducing the global burden of spine-related disease and disability by bringing together leading health care scientists and specialists, government agencies, and other stakeholders to transform the delivery of spine care in underserved communities worldwide. The GSCI participants are amongst the foremost spine care practitioners and researchers around the world.

She has received recognition and awards including: 

  • American Chiropractic Association – Presidential Award (2020)
  • National University of Health Sciences – President’s Quality Service Award (2018)
  • American Chiropractic Board of Sports Physicians –Sports Chiropractor of the Year Award (2018)
  • Clinical Compass Person of the Year Award (2018)
  • American Public Health Association, CHC – Distinguished Service Award (2012)
  • Fellowship of the International College of Chiropractic (2012)
  • National University of Health Sciences – Award for Distinguished Service (2010)

Faculty Info

Professor and Editor, NUHS Journals

BA, University of California – San Diego, Revelle, 1987
DC, Los Angeles College of Chiropractic, 1991
MSEd, University of Southern California, 2000
PhD, Public Health, Epidemiology, Walden University, 2016
Diplomate: American Chiropractic Board of Sports Physicians, 1997

Helpful Links